Sign in to follow this  
dirtbikercj

Guide to laptop screen resolution unlock

Hello Elysium,

Not sure where to post this so its going in the help section.

Background: I am a hardware engineer who works for a major hardware company. Questions are welcome.

After hours of messing around and trying various methods found here and elsewhere without luck, I have a solution for people with laptops who run external monitors who are locked to the 1600x1200 max resolution with an un-populated refresh field due to the technical limits of the wow client in those days. We however are going to trick it into working like a modern day wow client. Tested on an Acer, Asus, and Dell laptop all running windows 10 x64 with intel chipsets and Nvidia dedicated graphics cards. Have not tested with AMD products as i do not have any laying around anyone who wants to try is welcome if it works let me know and we'll work to update this accordingly.

Disclaimer: I take no responsibility for any damage you cause to your operating system or computer. Proceed at your own risk as you will be temporarily disabling your laptop screen in windows. These steps could possibly work for PC's as well however i have not tested it so do so at your own risk.

WARNING: THIS WILL ONLY WORK FOR LAPTOPS THAT RUN A DEDICATED GRAPHICS CARD, IF YOU ARE RUNNING OFF AN INTEL CHIP-SET OR AMD CHIP-SET AS A PRIMARY MEANS OF GRAPHICS OUTPUT DO NOT CONTINUE YOU WILL BRICK WINDOWS AND HAVE TO REINSTALL YOU'VE BEEN WARNED.

1. Be sure to have your external monitor connected and working before you proceed or you will have issues you don't want to have like having no picture on any monitor. 

2. Go into device manager: Control panel --> system and security --> system --> Device manager. Alternatively: Windows key + R --> Type: "devmgmt.msc" --> Press enter