Sign in to follow this  
feracon

Tanking in UBRS as Warrior

I'm a vanilla wow veteran and I don't recall tanking through UBRS being as difficult as it is now.

Early on in the instance, groups expect you to hold threat on 3-4 mobs at least after only a Bloodrage.

Once you reach the pulls that incorporate the untauntable dragons they open up full dps immediately. I've had shamans or fury warriors pull threat through 2 shield slams and 4 sunders with no chance of pulling it back. 

I'm in full BIS pre-raid tanking gear and this is getting really annoying. Can anyone lend any insight on this?

Get more tps gear. You don't need full mitigation for anything on Elysiums current content pretty much which I assume you mean by full pre raid bis.

People today are more competent when to comes to gearing, min-maxing, talent-spec and in general DPS. Combine this with the fact that they are LESS competent when it comes to watching their threat (Thank retail for this) and you've got a perfect storm. Also, people tend to not use CC as much now as they did back then.

Tanking is harder in vanilla today than in vanilla 2005 because of this.

My favorite is when rogues open with cheapshot, and wonder why I can't get aggro on them.  Or it's the 1 mob a holy pally wants to burn a HoJ on.

My favorite was: 

I just popped bloodrage for a ranged pull, and while I was drawing my bow, the mage activated arcane power. 

I "failed" to notice he had agro on that mob until he was dead. 

10 hours ago, WingziuM said:

My favorite was: 

I just popped bloodrage for a ranged pull, and while I was drawing my bow, the mage activated arcane power. 

I "failed" to notice he had agro on that mob until he was dead. 

LoL