Sign in to follow this  
BreakingRad

What spec should i make my hunter?

This is my first time playing a hunter, im a lvl 32 orc hunter and currently specced in Marksman and its fun but i feel like my pet is weak and doesnt do much i considered going into bm but i want other peoples opinions. What spec would be better for pvp and dps?

Hi there!

I leveled Marksman and had fun. If you want to hit 60 the fastest, Beast Mastery makes your pet an unstoppable tanking + DPS machine in world quests. If you do a ton of dungeons and prefer to dick around on the way up, 0/21/30 MM / Surv is my favorite spec. Lots of burst and CC.

There is no contest. Beast is best by a landslide. Your pet has infinite energy and if it does all the damage, then it'll have all the threat too. Your pet is much tougher than you pre 60, and you can heal it, not yourself. Assuming it dies, 2/2 revive will get it back up and running in no time. A pet being able to hold threat also makes shooting easier, but I actually recommend meleeing instead if your weapons are decent. Shooting uses ammo, swinging does not. But it comes down to the quality of your weapons. After BM is done (40), you'll pick marks or surv for the remaining levels, which is basically shooting or melee, whichever you prefer more. Again I suggest 2/2 raptor strike and meleeing when possible, to skimp on ammo bills. Note that if your pet is tanking, you can swing from behind the mob, which gives a huge boost to melee damage.

Enjoy it while it lasts though, because after 60, BM is a totally worthless tree, and pets become little more than howl buffs in raiding.

55 minutes ago, Drain said:

Enjoy it while it lasts though, because after 60, BM is a totally worthless tree, and pets become little more than howl buffs in raiding.

Or zappy flappy things. :) Or clawy bitey things.

11 minutes ago, BreakingRad said:

So as soon as i hit 60 i should just respec into mm and ignore bm? Im planning on respecing to bm tonight thanks guys