hdnine

[POLL] Need vs Greed

[POLL] Need vs Greed  

43 members have voted

1. 1. When is it ok to need over greed?

• It's ok to need everything
    • You choose need for anything you use on your character OR in your professions
    • You ONLY choose need for armor and weapons you use on your character
    • You ONLY choose need for items you use in your professions
    • You should greed everything

I'm a veteran MMO player and have been playing them since back in 2003 and the way i have been thought is that, when in a group, you only need items that your present character can use as armor or weapons. This means no needing for alt characters or professions.

So yesterday I was in a group questing in an area full of elites where suddenly an uncommon item dropped. Since i'm an enchanter i felt that i really needed this item, even though my character couldn't wear it. I realize this goes against what i've been thought but enchanting in WoW is such a pain. After winning the need roll against another player, that other one asked why i needed that item. I explained to him for my profession. After a lot of name calling and referring to "common sense" by both him and the rest of the group, i was subsequently kicked out.

Now, this poll isn't about if i made the right judgement call -- but more a general question about the topic of NEED vs GREED and your thoughts about it.

Edited by hdnine

for me, i only need items when i need them, or when the person who needs the item is being a right cunt.

Everything else, even though i'm enchanter, i greed for

how about needing a green for your friend which is a bit lower level. in my case he is playing a warrior so whenever any green drops(especially weapon) I need in a heartbeat

Seems quiet obvious. 
You 'need' only what you really need for your current character - mainly armor, weapons or crafting recepies that fits the current character proffesion.
You may noot need every green item cause "you need for enchanting, though"